The Schema of Paschaltide


The progression of Paschaltide can be summarized as follows:

Easter Octave:

Easter Sunday. The feast of the Resurrection. Traditional Easter dinner, etc. (see Customs page).
Easter Monday. The Emmaus Walk, "drenching" and "switching."
Easter Thursday. Commemoration of the departed (Slavic).
Easter Friday. A favorite day for pilgrimages.
Low Sunday. The most privileged Octave-day of the year. First communion for children.


Additional Sundays of Paschaltide:

From Ascension Thursday to Pentecost (the First Novena):

The Octave of Pentecost


The Meaning of Paschaltide

Paschaltide Customs | Paschaltide Foods

Liturgical Year Homepage | Latin Mass Homepage